2013 Nebraska Truck Driving Championships

Crete Carrier, Shaffer Trucking, and Hunt Transportation drivers competed in the Nebraska Truck Driving Championships this weekend in Grand Island, Nebraska. The Crete and Shaffer Team was represented by: Richard Boyd, David Kuscher, Don Clayton, Randy McDonald, John Hananmann Jr, Bill Brucker, and Duane Wilson II. The Hunt Transportation Team was represented by: Guy Courtney, John Woolf, Gary Daniel, Michael Johnston, and Larry Ward.

[slideshow_deploy id=’2918′]

A total of eighty-four drivers registered for the truck driving competition, which consists of a written exam of regulations and industry knowledge, pre-trip inspection, personal interviews, and a driving skills test. After the results were tabulated Team Crete/Shaffer received four awards, and Team Hunt Transportation received one award. See the award winners below:

Randall McDonald of the Lincoln Fleet won first place in the Tank Class.  As champion of his class, he will represent Nebraska and Crete Carrier at the National Truck Driving Championships in Salt Lake City this August.

David Kuscher of the Lincoln Fleet received second place in the Straight Truck Class.

Michael Johnston of Hunt Transportation received second place in the Sleeper Class.

Duane Wilson II of the Lincoln Fleet received third place in the Three-Axle Class.

Donald Clayton of the Kansas City Fleet won the coveted Jerry Wessel Award. This is awarded to the person rated the highest over the two-day competition by the championship officials on professionalism, industry knowledge, and attitude.  Nominees must have competed in or volunteered at the Nebraska Truck Driving Championships for at least five years. Twenty-eight drivers were nominated for the Wessel Award this year.